Who says you don’t need wudu for al-Mawrid?!

One afternoon, as I was with a dear friend of mine, his sister reached for the ‘Mawrid,’ a dictionary. Immediately, we both jumped up to scoldingly ask her if she had wudu. Knowing it wasn’t the Quran, she apologized profusely and admitted that she was bereft of ablution. Obviously, we laughed at the situation…

…but today as I search in my dictionary, I am lost.

استطاع … to be able.

Simple enough. The light came in the darkness when I was searching for something to clarify my situation. My problem was simple enough, what is the meaning of istaTee’? I searched page after page, read through word after word. Guessed at the root, blamed its branches and wondered if I’d ever enjoy its fruits.

…then it fell, like the acorn upon chicken little, from out of sky, the sky was now falling. It had fallen on me. 

It was under طوع , ‘to obey.’ 

استطاع was from طوع. Its root was obedience. The root of ability is obedience. 

…and then the darkness was lifted.

Traveling out here, literally into the middle of the desert, trying to grasp the sharpness of the arab tongue, sometimes its easy to forget, there is no ability nor positive change, except from Allah. We strive hard, but its only from Allah that any success can be derived. 

So what prize is given to the uncooperative slave? He disobey to expect reward? Awkward in thought, but almost too real in action.

لا حول و لا قوّة الّا باللّه

‘There is no ability, nor positive change, except from Allah.’

Make dua.

4 Comments

Filed under Treadings on the Path, Uncategorized, Visions from the Sidewalk

4 responses to “Who says you don’t need wudu for al-Mawrid?!

  1. Amatullah

    MashaAllah. I’ll keep the ‘sunnah’ going…

    I remembered an ayah from surah Hud after reading that, Allah ta’ala records the statement of Shu’ayb alayhi sallam to his people:

    قَالَ يَا قَوْمِ أَرَأَيْتُمْ إِن كُنتُ عَلَى بَيِّنَةٍ مِّن رَّبِّي وَرَزَقَنِي مِنْهُ رِزْقًا حَسَنًا وَمَا أُرِيدُ أَنْ أُخَالِفَكُمْ إِلَى مَا أَنْهَاكُمْ عَنْهُ إِنْ أُرِيدُ إِلاَّ الإِصْلاَحَ مَا اسْتَطَعْتُ وَمَا تَوْفِيقِي إِلاَّ بِاللّهِ عَلَيْهِ تَوَكَّلْتُ وَإِلَيْهِ أُنِيبُ
    He said: “O my people! Tell me, if I have a clear evidence from my Lord, and He has given me a good sustenance from Himself. I wish not, in contradiction to you, to do that which I forbid you. I only desire reform so far as *I am able, to the best of my power*. And my guidance cannot come except from Allah, in Him I trust and unto Him I repent. (11:88)

    SubhanAllah, Shu’ayb alayhi sallam and you share the same thought. He realizes that he can only do up to his capability, and the rest is left up to Allah ta’ala.

    The two words, مَا اسْتَطَعْتُ , is translated as: so far as I am able, to the best of my power.

    He said the famous words after: wa maa tawfeeqi ila billah, and my “tawfeeq” is only from Allah. Tawfeeq from wow fa qaaf, and it literally means reconciliation or to agree. Tawfeeq is the coming together of all means that enable a person to acheive some good. Tawfeeq is the ability AND the opportunity to do something, and that is when all the means come together so one can do the good they want…and this is only from Allah azza wa jal.

    InshaAllah you’ve been given both the ability and the opportunity in your travels and studies, May Allah ta’ala bless you with tawfeeq in all of your affairs! Ameen

  2. Cuzin. I dont even know If I should leave a message here. Its all miles and miles of spiritual introspect. My latest revelation is that if you keep pecking you’ll eventually put a hole in it.
    Here’s another on for you ” Life is like a mirror, you get out of it exactly what you put into it”
    Statements from a white board!
    Im glad to see you are making it work and growing and maturing. Keep that up and Ill see you again sometime. I got love for ya playa. Dont forget that.
    Ya Brotha from anotha mutha! LOL

  3. Sally

    masha’Allah..this was so beautiful! I shared it on the forums..may Allah reward you and make the discovery process for you in Egypt an exciting and fruitful one insha’Allah

  4. SubhaanAllah!
    Jazaak Allah khayr.

Leave a Reply

